Newbie and son needs help

IFish

Joined Jun 1, 2013
I am trying to help my 7 year old son design and build a compact circuit that turns on a bright LED light with a mercury switch where the LED remains on (or blinking) for a specific amount of time after the switch has been closed (even if the switch becomes open after initially turning the LED on and starting the timer). The finished product should be small enough to fit into the opening of a 2 liter plastic soda bottle if possible. I am brand new to this and really do not know the terminology to research many of the necessary components that may be needed to complete this project or what may be available within the needed small size requirements for this project. Any help or information will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.
IFish

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
You could use a latching "one shot" like I designed to run my scope calibrator. When I hit the button, it provides power for ten minutes then goes off. The ON time can be varied by changing the value of the timing capacitor (the 47uF/10V Tantalum). Your mercury switch would connect between the SW terminal and ground. This runs off a 9V battery (connect to +BAT node). The VCC node is the power to the other circuitry controlled by the one shot which goes off after it times out.

As to making all this small enough to fit into the ed of a soda bottle: I doubt it.

Attachments

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
This should be doable: A 555 one shot, a LED or a blinking LED. Question: does power need to be cut at time out?

edwardholmes91

Joined Feb 25, 2013