New with High Side P Channel- Take a look?

ChrisHelvey

Joined May 22, 2004
Let me pre-empt this with saying I am a self-taught hack with a very old (and nearly useless today) computer science degree. I have never designed with a P Channel Transistor before. My project is a PIC based 60V battery charger (from 12V Solar) for a 48V LiFePO4 battery pack. (Please don't question about Li battery charging - THAT part I am clear about and a BMS is in place.)

So, in order to take readings of the battery pack voltage on a Pic A/D pin, I needed to disconnect the 60V supply. Thus, the use of a P channel MosFET.

Here is that part of the circuit.
Anything majorly wrong?

High Side P Channel.jpg

Thanks everyone.

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
What pmosfet are you going to use?

Edit: the reason I ask is you have to watch out for Vgs exceeding the max specification. If so, you'll need a voltage divider on the gate (rather than pulling it all the way down to 0V).

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
What is the PIC PWM circuit that can switch 60V?

As joeyd999 stated you need to limit the Vgs voltage (20V is a typical MOSFET maximum, so you should limit it to 10-15V)

ChrisHelvey

Joined May 22, 2004
What pmosfet are you going to use?

Edit: the reason I ask is you have to watch out for Vgs exceeding the max specification. If so, you'll need a voltage divider on the gate (rather than pulling it all the way down to 0V).
I haven't chosen one yet. Recommendations are welcome. :) Price isn't really a concern because it's just a personal project and these parts are pretty cheap compared to a more difficult design.

ChrisHelvey

Joined May 22, 2004
Oh good. I'm on the right track! Like I said, I'm a hack, so I only partly know what I'm doing, but not completely ignorant.

Thanks a lot.

Chris

ChrisHelvey

Joined May 22, 2004
So I just need to choose resistors for the voltage divider that will be the correct ratio and end up under the current limits of the PIC pin's sink, yes?

ChrisHelvey