New Project Feedback

charabb

Joined Oct 9, 2010
Hello. This is my first time to post, but after reading around a bit I am looking forward to the feedback.

I have a vehicle wiring project that I'd like feed back on.

The vehicle is an SUV in which I have an equipment box with certain electrical needs:

1.) First it needs a heater to keep certain supplies from freezing at night (I live in the South, so nights are usually the only time that heating is needed). The truck is a diesel with a block heater. To supply heat the box has a AC heater installed with a thermo-cube thermostat to regulate and maintain a minimum temp of 35 degrees. To supply power a deditated AC line will be mounted under the hood and exit via the front grill (much like the current block heater line does) and end with a power strip. The block heater will plug into this power strip with some form of switching (yet to be determined) that will allow it to be turned as needed. Another extention cord will also plug into the power supply and run back to the box to supply AC power to the heater there. The truck will be manually plugged into AC supply on cold nights.

2.) Second there needs to be a DC power supply to the box. This will easily come from the batteries of the truck back to the box and terminate at a "power supply" strip to allow multiple applications. I'll probably run a "always hot" line and a "ignition switched hot" line.

A - First application will be lights. For this, I will just find some 12vdc lights and wire them directly to the power strip with appropriate switches.

B - Second application is dc supply to power a charger for a piece of cordless equipment - however, I would also like to be able to use the AC power to supply charging when the truck is plugged in on cold nights. This is the most challenging application. My thought were: