New IC's and Electronics - 4PDT IC's

rablack97

Joined Dec 13, 2012
Hello,

I need help putting together a IC circuit that will simulate a 4PDT relay. I have a few MC14551's but have no clue if this the right chip to do this with. I have very little knowledge about this things.

Am i on the right track or can somebody lead me the right direction.....I am working with 5v inputs, so any help with types of resistors I would need and where they would go on the IC would be helpful.

Thanks in advance...

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Hello,

I need help putting together a IC circuit that will simulate a 4PDT relay. I have a few MC14551's but have no clue if this the right chip to do this with. I have very little knowledge about this things.

Am i on the right track or can somebody lead me the right direction.....I am working with 5v inputs, so any help with types of resistors I would need and where they would go on the IC would be helpful.

Thanks in advance...
A solid state relay or optoisolator will be much closer to a conventional relay. You are really going to need to be more specific on what you want to do.

rablack97

Joined Dec 13, 2012
Sorry, I just realized my title is wrong, and i can edit.....New to IC's and electronics, is what it should say.

Ok I will try to explain this as best as i can. I an developing an expansion board for and encoder...The board has 2 USB inputs to the encoder, but only one source can feed into the encoder. So right now I have a 4PDT mechanical relay working fine, but i would like to use a smaller mechanism that can do the same thing hopefully an IC.

What's happening is Source 1 usb is plugged in to the encoder, when i plug in source 2 it sends 5v to the relay as a control and switches off 5V GND data- data+ for source 1 and allows source 2 usb connections to flow to the encoder.