New EET grad seeking advice/help

Kram724

Joined Jan 30, 2014
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and I'm graduating in May with an Electronics Engineering Technology degree. I have some questions that I can't get the answers to at school.

1. Are there certain industries or companies where I should focus my job searches in order to have the best chance to find a good job?

2. What extra skills should I concentrate on outside of school i.e. soldering, computer languages/programming etc.?

I'm currently living in MD but willing to move. I'm 41 years old so I'm not the typical graduate and I have plenty of experience working with tools and my hands.

I'm trying to find out from those of you with experience what you would do if you were in my shoes. Any advice or insight would be great.

Thanks,
M

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
What industry/company do YOU want to work for? What do YOU enjoy?
Do you just want a "job" or a "career"?
What skills YOU should focus on are dependent on what industry/company you might work for..

DerStrom8

Joined Feb 20, 2011
I'm an EET myself. Originally my idea of a career was circuit and PCB design and manufacturing, but that's a hit or miss whether there are jobs available for that sort of work. However, people are always looking for programmers. A few years ago I started putting my focus into software rather than hardware and got a job almost immediately as a software developer with ADP. It's not the best example--it's only temporary at this point--but I'm in my second round and am really enjoying it. With luck when a permanent position pops up, I'll be at the top of their list.

Anyway, if you feel comfortable with hardware, I'd say you'd do well focusing on software for a bit, familiarize yourself with several languages (but only one at a time), especially object-oriented programming languages. There is a high demand for C++ and Java developers these days, so I highly recommend learning one or the other, and eventually probably both.