Need to convert 240v 50Hz - 110v 60Hz (newbie)

malcolmt

Joined Dec 3, 2008
Hi floks,
The title says it all,
Here in the uk our domestic supply is 240v 50Hz, I repair clocks for a living and often get asked how to run american electric clocks (110v 60Hz) in the uk, Most people assume that just buying a step down transformer will do, then wonder why their clocks run SLOW ???
I thought it about time i researched this issue and came up with a cost effective answer.
My thoughts so far are to step down transformer to 9-12v, smooth to dc, then using a 555, create 60Hz frequency to be applied to the dc then step up transformer to 110v. Current requirements would be no more than a few watts. Any and all thoughts or possible circuits would be very much apreciated.

Kind regards

Malcolm

Last edited:

CVMichael

Joined Aug 3, 2007
I'm no expert in this, but it really does not make sense to make a clock that will take the AC frequency to run the timing functions of the clock.

In other words, I think that a step down transformer is what you need. If the clock runs faster, I'm pretty sure it is NOT related to the frequency of the AC...

malcolmt

Joined Dec 3, 2008
I'm no expert in this, but it really does not make sense to make a clock that will take the AC frequency to run the timing functions of the clock.

In other words, I think that a step down transformer is what you need. If the clock runs faster, I'm pretty sure it is NOT related to the frequency of the AC...[/quote

Unfortunately that is exactly what happens, The motor is "synchronous" IE gets it accuracy from the mains frequency, Thats why they run SLOW.
Malcolm

Last edited:

CVMichael

Joined Aug 3, 2007
If you use a step down, then your output will be 110v - 50Hz, and if the clock takes the timing from AC, then shouldn't the clock run slower ?