Need to "Bump Start" a small DC motor

crckrmn77

Joined May 29, 2012
I am a novice in electronics and to this board, so please forgive me when I trip over myself here.

I am building a small car that I want to "bump start". Effectively, I will have a very small DC motor directly driving the real axle and would like to have the motor switch on, once it starts turning (i.e. like a bump start).

I understand that a DC motor should generate a current if it is mechanically turned. I would like that current to activate a timed circuit that then drives the motor for X seconds (or until it is reset by some other mechanism). First, is this possible? And, second, can it be done with an analog circuit?

Thanks in advance.

Jeremy

williamj

Joined Sep 3, 2009
crckrmn77,

I'm stepping out of my area of expertise here but I couldn't resist. Attached is a circuit that may or may not start you off in the right direction.

By "bumping" the motor, the generated voltage fires the gate on the first transistor which allows current through to the gate on the second transistor which allows current through to the motor. (You'll have to "size" all components appropriately.)

Stopping the motor from spinning manually would cease current flow to the gate on the first tranisitor thus stopping current flow to the second transistor (I think).

And if I'm incorrect I appologize but I'm trying, always trying... my wife says "I'm very trying.".

williamj

Attachments

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
I think that the transistors are going to get rather warm. A comparator might detect bump V, capacitivly coupled to a 555, which would further forward bias comp. keeping output low untill 555 timed out, shutting every thing down- hopefully, might just oscillate.

crckrmn77

Joined May 29, 2012
I am about to demonstrate my newbie(ness). When you say comparator, could you be a little more specific?