Need timer and servo help

blangman

Joined Dec 30, 2009
I am working on a device that would incorporate a small led display that would control a servo motor to open and close a flap. It would need to work off a 9 volt power source or less. Space is also an issue and it would need to be as small as possible. I am new at this and have no idea where to start. I appreciate your input.

KMoffett

Joined Dec 19, 2007
Welcome to the Forum!

Start by explaining,"in detail", exactly what you're trying to do. What are the dimensions in your space issue? What does the LED display have to do with the servo motor. Is the power supply battery or wall wart? The devil is in the details! ;)

Ken

blangman

Joined Dec 30, 2009
It would need to fit in a 3"x2" space. The whole idea is that this device can be set at certain times to open and close. The led display needs to show the current time and be used for setting the times for the opration of opening and closing a flap that is connected to a servo or stepper motor. It would have to be powered by battery.

blangman

Joined Dec 30, 2009
I would like to tell you all about it but it is something that I may be able to market. Believe me if this turns out to be something, I will take care of the people that help me. It will be used in the home with a regular 9 volt battery. The mechanics of this project are pretty simple. The electronic portion is my problem. Example: The consumer sets the desired time to open this flap and sets the time to close the flap.

Dalaran

Joined Dec 3, 2009
I think the uC portion here will be clearly be the hardest. Do you have experience with microcontrollers? If not, and you are serious about this task, it might be time to start reading.

Also how long you expect this to last is a big deal. A servo motor and PIC can eat up a little 9V battery pretty quickly. How often will it be used? How long will the servo be on for? etc. etc.

KMoffett

Joined Dec 19, 2007
Another starting point