Need some help with atmega16

peck68

Joined Nov 27, 2009
Well i haven't posted here in a long time, so, hey :)

Basically i'm stumped, I have never used AVR before up until this very day.. So i'm still getting to grips with it

I want to mess around with the ADC with a pot and output it on some leds on a port (d)

But though, how the <snip> do i wire this <snip> thing up?!

I've been reading everywhere, i just want a simple explanation on what AVcc, Aref and GND does (obviously about the GND, but there are two of them on there) and what I do with them...

The datasheet goes into too much detail about the things i don't need to know, which confuses me rediculously.. So if someone can explain the basics of interfacing, thanks :D

Don't worry about code, i'm an insanely quick learner when it comes to programming

Last edited by a moderator:

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
Ok peck68 here is my take on the AVCC, AREF, AGND

AVCC - This pin on the AVR is the power to the ADC section of the AVR. It must be connected to a power source that is within 0.3V of the AVR's VCC pin. The safest hookup is to connect AVCC to the chips VCC pin.

AREF - This pin can be connected in one of three ways.

The AREF pin sets the voltage that corresponds to all 10 bits of the a-to-d convertor set to 1. In other words it sets the maximum voltage that should be applied to the ADC input being converted. There is no harm to the A-to-D converter if you exceed this voltage but any voltage above AREF will be represented by 0x3ff (all ones out of the converter) as long as it does not exceed the chips VCC voltage.. That means you will get an erroneous output value for applied input voltages in excess of the AREF.

The AVR can be programmed through its internal register bits to connect this pin to AVCC or an internal 2.56V reference. In either of these cases it is probably a good idea to provide a bypass cap to the chips ground pin to filter the AREF voltage.