Need of Constant o/p voltage????

darshan.14

Joined Mar 14, 2010
Hello all,

I am new to electronics and have some of doubts about voltage source.
To start with :-

I have read most of the times that we require constant voltage source (I mean constant voltage over wide range of load - current conditions). But I fail to understant that
1. why do we require it to be constant? though the current changes according to the load. what is the significane of keeping it constant.
2. what happens if it reduces with load. (still current requirement are met with the increase, isnt it?)

3. In otherwords voltage is the force and current if flowrate, so whats the secrent benind keeping the force constant with varous flow rate requitemts? whats the purpose getting solved?

waiting for replies ,
Darshan

Last edited:

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
Please don't use abbreviations in your posts -- some people (like me) won't understand what o/p means.

The only reason that someone would want a constant voltage for a given load is that they would then know that the current was constant through that load. Of course, the current will change if the load resistance changes. Also, if a load was a constant resistance, then a varying voltage would of course produce a varying current.

There are many reasons why a constant voltage or constant current can be required. Here's one example: I want to measure the resistance of a piece of wire with connections in it to see if any of the connections have degraded. I can put a constant voltage across the wire and verify the current remains constant. Then I know the various resistances involved aren't changing. I can probe the various connections by putting my digital multimeter probes onto the wire on either side of the connection and read the voltage drop. Then I can calculate the resistance of the connection. If the voltage was known and constant, I could go back and repeat the same measurement years later and see if anything has changed.