Need help with this serial LED circuit...

mando_vzl

Joined Jan 8, 2009
Hello, I'm a newbie in electronics and i'm trying to understand all the info as fast as possible; however, i need to build a simple series LED circuit but i'm not sure if i am on the right track.

Your thoughts are appreciated.

mando:)

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You have apples and oranges in series. ;)

First, get all of the 20mA LEDs together in series.

Then, you have a special case - one LED is rated for 10mA @ 2.6v. You will need to parallel that LED with a resistor to achieve a total current of 20mA.
So, what size resistor will you need to make up the 10mA across 2.6v?

R=E/I, or Resistance(Ohms) = Voltage / Current(Amperes)
R=2.6v/10mA = 2.6/0.01 = 260 Ohms.

Now you can put that 260 Ohm resistor in parallel with your "odd duck" 10mA @ 2.6v LED, and you'll be able to put it in series with the other 20mA LEDs.

You'll still need another resistor to limit current through all of the series LEDs.
Rlimit = (Vsupply - VfLED(total)) / DesiredCurrent
where VfLED(total) is the total of all of the LED forward voltages.

Try that and see what you wind up with.

Last edited:

mando_vzl

Joined Jan 8, 2009
LOL thanks! the 10mA is a Typo...i hate when i do that. The specs for the red LED are: 5mm 2.6v - 28mA

sorry about that.

mando

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
LOL thanks! the 10mA is a Typo...i hate when i do that. The specs for the red LED are: 5mm 2.6v - 28mA

sorry about that.
It happens! ;)

So, you still have apples and oranges. One LED needs 28mA, the others need 20mA.

Now what you'll need to do is to add up the Vf of all of your 20mA LEDs.

Then you will need to figure out what resistance you can parallel that series "string" with to provide the extra 8mA current required for your "odd duck" 28mA red LED.

Once you have all of the LEDs in series with common 28mA current, it's duck soup, right? ;)
[eta]