need help with simple use of pic18f2455

leviitzhak

Joined Apr 16, 2014
I am trying to use pic18f2455 and I could not manage to use it in a simple way.

I am new to pic programming and any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated.

Attached is the simplified schematic of my circuit.

I also attached the configuration file config.h that I am using. Its main parts being :

#pragma config FOSC = INTOSCIO_EC
#pragma config PWRT = OFF
#pragma config BOR = OFF
#pragma config WDT = OFF
#pragma config PBADEN = OFF
#pragma config MCLRE = ON
#pragma config STVREN = OFF

Now a simple program like the following would not light my LED :

#include<xc.h>
#include "config.h"

void main() {

TRISBbits.TRISB0 = 0;
LATBbits.LATB0 = 0;

for(int i=0; i<50; ++i){}

LATBbits.LATB0 = 1;
for( ; ; ){}

}

I managed to isolate the problem and I suspect a constant Power-on-Reset which I think I can show with the following code, which lets the LED constantly lit :

void main() {

TRISBbits.TRISB0 = 0;

if(RCONbits.POR == 0){
LATBbits.LATB0 = 1;
}else{
LATBbits.LATB0 = 0;
}

RCONbits.POR = 1;

for(int i=0; i<50; ++i){}

LATBbits.LATB0 = 0;
for( ; ; ){}

}

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks!!

Attachments

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
Yeah, this behavior is expected when switching Vdd and Vss. ;)

You may (probably) have killed it...

Did you program it out of circuit?

On the plus side, you remembered MCLR, which a lot of people forget...

leviitzhak

Joined Apr 16, 2014
Thanks for your answer it helps me a lot.
Yes I programmed it out of circuit, probably switched once by mistake Vdd and Vss. It will take me a couple of days to get a new pic, is there a way to test if my pic is dead ?

Last edited:

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
What is your power supply?

Many times a PIC can withstand reverse connection pretty well, it depends a lot on your PSU and how much current it can source.

Re testing the PIC, just try and use it.