Need Help With Circuit Explanation

sonic007

Joined Feb 26, 2012
I am a beginner Electronics enthusiastic and I am trying to build a circuit and I kind of know how to go about assembling the circuit but I do not understand purpose of some of components in the circuit. I have attached an image of the circuit for your reference.

http://embedded-lab.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/SignalAmplifier.jpg

- The Purpose of the 6.8k, 100 nF and 680k ?
- The Purpose of the combination of 100 nF and 680k in the first op-amp and 2nd op-amp ?

-The Purpose of the combination of 1uF and 68k ?

Also note shown on this circuit what will be the Purpose of a Comparator and how does it generate square pulse if attached to the two stage op-amp at the IC2 pin 7 ?

Thank you So much.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
- The Purpose of the 6.8k, 100 nF and 680k ?
The opamps are configured as noninverting amplifiers. The 6.8k resistor is R1, the 680k is R2. The formula for the gain of a noninverting opamp with divided feedback is:
Av = (R2/R1)+1
This means that each stage has a gain of 101. Since you have two stages in series, and the gain of one stage is multiplied by the other, you will have a net gain of 101*101=10,201.
Read up here:
http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_3/chpt_8/5.html

- The Purpose of the combination of 100 nF and 680k in the first op-amp and 2nd op-amp ?
This will tend to decrease the response (lower gain) with rapidly changing (higher freqency) signals.
-The Purpose of the combination of 1uF and 68k ?
Capacitors block DC, and pass the effects of AC. (That's a very important concept; write it down and remember it.) So, the voltage on one side of a capacitor can be quite different than the other side, yet if the signal changes value on one plate of a capacitor, that change can be seen on the other plate.

The 68k resistor keeps the noninverting (+) input of the opamp's input potential average at ground.