Need help with Amblone board (ambient lighthning behine screen)

Carlitos

Joined Feb 3, 2014
So, i am completely new to electronics. I am in the process of building a Amblone, ambient LED positioned behind screen, controlled by a arduino and computer. (Read here if you are interested http://amblone.com/guide )

I have programmed the Arduino to send out voltage on 12 pins (RGB, 4 channels)

Using a multimeter i have confirmed that the arduino is giving from 0V to 5V, depending on either static color (5V static output on pin) to rolling colors (0-5-0V).

Here are my pictures (i know about the, ehm, not so good soldering): http://imgur.com/a/kmdUH

The powersupply i am using is a 12V 1A DC adapter (from the original led-strip) The led-strip has 4 connections, R/G/B,+. Connecting + and R to the powersupply gives me red light, so that works.

But the board i made, does not give any light to my LEDs.

Can anyone help?

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
But from what I can tell on your pics' of your boards, looks like you have the transistors wired backwards, looks like you have the emitter and collector reversed.... I know you said you tested the output of the arduino, did you check the outputs of the transistors??

Carlitos

Joined Feb 3, 2014
Thank you for the input.

I have tried again, verifying that my transistors are correctly rotated.

What i did was, plug the powersource, led and the arduino, like in this pic: http://i.imgur.com/pPvDg0Y.png

When i did the above, i got a solid light, it's the same way as i have on my board, as far as i can see.

Any tips?

TANDBERGEREN

Joined Jan 20, 2014
Transistors seemed connected the right way to me.

Collector to the left when holding the flat face against you and the legs downwards.

The resistors seems to be labelled 2,2Ohm? And connected to base they really are out of range. Would have changed them all to 2K2 as they are drawn in the schematics.

Carlitos

Joined Feb 3, 2014
Transistors seemed connected the right way to me.