Need help with a project

Ntranquilli

Joined Sep 20, 2013
OK, so here's my dilemma. I'm a mechanical engineer in the HVAC field so I work with electrical components, but when a board goes down we just replace it.

I am a Halloween fanatic and have over 20 animatronic props that my kids absolutely love. The electronics come from China from a place called Tekky Toys, and as one can imagine breakdown frequently. Emailing the company for customer support is absolutely useless, as they will not supply replacement parts or schematics. So I have come to the conclusion that I need to learn how to troubleshoot and fix myself. I have been able to troubleshoot some of the easier boards with a multi-meter, but the one I have attached to this thread is out of my realm. This prop is my kids favorite and I am looking for someone to point me in the right direction how to get started. I've identified where the power leads (9V 1500 ma) come into the board but don't know what to do next.

Any help on what tools I need and what steps I have to take would be much appreciated. I don't mind doing the tedious work but just don't know how to check if Resistors, Caps, Transistors, etc. are bad or need to be replaced.

Attachments

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
look for fried/burnt/broken components..
Whats wrong with it? could be a break/loose wire,etc...
It obviously requires and understanding of electronics and being able to identify certain "sub-circuits" and then checking all their functions..
Just like an HVAC system though you can't just be "inexperienced" and expect to be able to sit down and fix one without the proper knowledge/experience.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010