Need help with a Kenetic Energy Recovery System

bentatts

Joined Nov 17, 2011
Hey Guys,

I'm looking for a bit of help on a project I'm building at the moment. I've designed a Velomobile (a mix between a bike and a car) but due to its weight I need a bit of help when it comes to acceleration. This thing is seriously cool and looks like a mini Le Mons car. Made of full carbon fibre it's pedalled like a recumbent bike but due to it's light weight and aerodynamics this bad boy should be able to cruise at about 40-50km/h (around 30mph for our American friends) on just 150 watt of power, what the normal human puts out when they go for a ride on their bike.

The idea is to create a KURS system similar to what the F1 cars use to draw wasted kenetic energy from braking, store it when the vehicles stopped then release it with a simple steering wheel mounted switch.

I'm a bike mechanic by trade so I know a lot about mechanical problems and nothing about electrical. After doing some research I've come up with this plan:

When you want to slow down or stop the vehicle, apply the KURS (a paddle behind the steering wheel) and instead of using a normal disc brake, the KURS system engages and starts to slow the car (theres also a disc brake system on the other paddle so the driver has more control over braking).
The KURS would be an electric motor that is on a clutch system, when the paddle is engaged, the clutch is let out and the motor engages with the rear axle gear and starts generating power (the motor would be a reasonably strong brushless model). The motor draws the energy from the drive shaft, slowing the car and the power generated by the motor would be stored either via a battery (a really light one) or a flywheel (the power would transfer to a second motor that would spin the flywheel).