Need help modifying 555 output

duck36

Joined Apr 17, 2013
Hi all!

Preface (feel free to skip):

I'm a hobbyist that has been doing electrical/wiring projects for many years and I have recently been approached with tasks that cannot be completed without building circuit boards to control the components. So I am diving head first into this with incredible enthusiasm. I have been studying and researching in most of my spare time (sedra/smith book just came in the other day! :D) and can honestly say that I have met a worthy opponent! The vast majority of what I have learned thus far has been from the experts here on AAC. I am grateful for the help that I've already received and hope to be a contributing member here.

/Preface :cool:

A lot of my research has been about the NE555, mostly because of it's versatility and convenience. I am now working on a new project, and have come to you for help.

(All voltages are DC)

I want to create a voltage activated switch, which seems simple enough. When the input signal reaches a specific voltage (we'll say 5v...not sure of specifics yet) I want it to generate a 12v single pulse to a switch. The tricky part: It can only send the 12v to the switch one time. The input signal will fluctuate between 0v and 12v (not sure if that is actually the max, as it could be lower, but for now that is what we will assume), but I want the switch to only be activated the first time the input signal reaches 5v. The system will need to reset once power is disconnected from input signal.

Recap:

-Input signal starts at 0v and begins to increase

-Once input signal reaches 5v, a 12v single pulse is sent to a switch

-When input signal falls back to 5v (or increases to 5v during following fluctuations) no signal is sent to the switch

-Once power is disconnected and then reconnected to input signal the system resets, allowing it to activate the switch again.