Need Help Looking For A Non PLC Ladder Diagram For:

Jure George

Joined Dec 28, 2008
I am New to this field of study and this was an Aissgnment from our instructor;

We have just recentently been introduced to ladder diagrams that make use of Control relays and contacts. Our assignment is to create a ladder diagram for a Pnuematic system that controls a drill press. There are as follows; Ram A - loads blank into position. Ram B - Locks blank into position. Ram C - Drives Drill down into Blank.

The materials we have access to in our Lab to see the Ladder Diagram work are:
3 Single Ended Double Acting Cylinders
3 Spring return, single solenoid 5/2 valves
Throttle valve/muffler combo valves( speed control )

We the Sudent MUST use :
5 Machine Tool relays
One Eletromagnetic Pneumatic Energiztion Timer
120 Volt Supply
6 Reed switches mounted on the cylinders( 1 NO Contact each )
2 Mushroom Cap Palm buttons ( 2 NO contacts Each )

From the basic drawing given to us: 3 Air cylinders have spring returns on each and SV-A RS1 ,RS2
SV-B RS3, RS4
SV-C RS5, RS6 The RS are the reed switches that are at the start and end of each piston travel.

Also we need to show in the ladder diagram, 2 start positions so that the operator has to have both hands on the starters for the system to work. Also a anti tie down circuit so that the operator can`t cheet and tape one start button down, We have to use a Time delay with a On Delay Timer. The operator MUST keep both hands on the start buttons and the operator has .5 seconds between both start buttons being pressed for the system to start. Finally after one cyle is done the operator MUST restart both start buttons for the next cycle. IF one button is released The system must be disabled. Until reset by the operator.