Need help getting 256 colors out of a LED

branden137

Joined Mar 7, 2010
I am making an attempt to produce a LED color controller that will produce 256 colors using potentiometers.

BUT I can't get the pots to resist the voltage down low enough that the LED's individual colors do not glow at all.

According to my math a 10k pot should resist the voltage far below the operating voltage but alas it still glows.

I KNOW THIS CAN BE DONE EASIER WITH A MICRO CONTROLLER.

I WANT TO MAKE THIS ON THE CHEAP SO NO MC's

Thank you so much in advance.

I am a DC circuits noob so please explain well, and I am not shy of reading large hidden forum pieces on this subject.

Twitchell

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You need a PWM controller, one for each color.

You can make one from an LM339 quad comparator and some additional components.

See the attached schematic.

[eta] The connections for the power pins of the LM339 are not shown, and neither is the voltage. The circuit was designed to be operated on 12v-14v for V+.

You could use separate red, green, and blue LEDs, or you could use RGB LEDs that have common anodes. The circuit will not work as shown with common cathode LEDs.

Not shown are current limiting resistors for the LEDs, as this is a rather generic schematic.

Attachments

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
You need a red LED, a green LED and a blue LED. Their brightness is controlled by varying the current, not the voltage.

You forgot to show your schematic so I guess you simply connected a potentiometer in series with each LED. Then each LED will never turn off completely.

branden137

Joined Mar 7, 2010
You are correct Audioguru

Currently i have

10k pot----/470ohm/----/LED-red
10k pot----/470ohm/----/LED-blue
10k pot----/370ohm/----/LED-green
INPUT+----to common cathode.

in NOOB thought process it seemed that easy.

I thought the 10,000 ohms of resistance would turn the indivual colors off.

branden137

Joined Mar 7, 2010