Need help for Infrared indicator

nobody0608

Joined Aug 4, 2012
Hello, I am new to the electronics and having a very weak base. I want to build a IR indicator by using the IR LED and the photodiode. I had tried to connect the my circuit according to the figure below. However, I get no reading change for the V(out) when I tried to block the photodiode from IR LED by using black color cover.
The IR LED is function well.

Btw, do anybody still have datasheet for the 5mm IR LED and 3mm photodiode? I tried google it but get nothing same with my components.

I am not sure about the operating current and voltage for the photodiode.
Is that R2 in the correct value?
Is that longer leg for the photodiode indicating anode for it?
If I put the LED to the V(out), is that the LED will light up when I block each other? (LED parallel with the photodiode)

Thank for answers.

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
I just picked the first google result of this search as an example:
"3mm photodiode datasheet"
Reverse light current is 3μA so the voltage across the resistor would be 0.000003 A * 3000 Ω = 0.009 V
To get a bigger voltage you need a larger resistance.
It makes more sense to measure the voltage across the resistor as it has the largest percentage change and you can use a low range on the voltmeter. You can swap their positions if you need to amplify the signal with an op amp.

nobody0608

Joined Aug 4, 2012
If I want to light up the LED at the photodiode side, do I need to amplify its voltage and current?

If the distance between IR LED and photodiode is about 1 cm, is that alright? I don't know about the minimum and maximum distance of them. I afraid the photodiode will affected by the heat as well.

Thank in advance.

vk6zgo

Joined Jul 21, 2012
If you have a digital multimeter with a diode check position you can check to see if your photodiode is OK,as it will just look like a diode.