Need help finding the values of missing capacitors

desecravity

Joined Jul 23, 2013
Hi to all from All About Circuits,

Firstly, I am new here, and I apologies if this thread is not in the right section. Now to business.

I have recently come across the opportunity to purchase a brand new EVGA GTX 690 graphics card at a great price. The catch is, the card is faulty, and the seller (an online electronics 're-seller') does not know much about graphics cards, and has not tested the product to see if it works or not. The card has never been used, and was obtained from Best Buy by the seller with the message 'Missing two resistors' on the packaging. The seller does not know any more about the card, and is selling it as is. Pictures below.

I have limited knowledge when it comes to electronics, but from what I can see in the picture, the two missing parts are in fact capacitors, and not resistors. And.... here is my dilemma, without the circuit diagram of the the cards PCB, I cannot find the value of these missing capacitors, and as such, I have no idea if this card is repairable or not. I have searched online for this information, but to no avail.

I am here on All About Circuits with the hopes that any of the members here can tell me if this information is available to the public and where I could find it (circuit diagram of the GTX 690), or even better, if someone with a 690 has dealt with a similar problem and knows the values already (one can only hope, right?).

Lastly, I am well aware that this is a risky purchase, but given the above information would you think this purchase worth while (i.e capacitors can be replaced), hell there might even be something else wrong. Or would you consider this a complete waste of money? Keep in mind the card is going for about 25% of the price of retail.

PS; Soldering, and any other electronic work is not a problem, and should be left out of the equation.

Thanks all, any answers appreciated!
Gus.

sheldons

Joined Oct 26, 2011