Need help designing a LED Necklace.

Scott S

Joined Jun 25, 2010
Hello,
I am trying to design a LED necklace. The twist is that I am also trying to design the necklace so that the LEDs blink in response to music. I want to incorporate 16 to 20 blue and white LEDs in a pattern of: BWBWB..... ect. I found a few circuits that may help, but I'm not sure if they are practical for my purposes. http://www.electro-tech-online.com/...ync-music-sound-level-indicator-schematic.png
http://www.electro-tech-online.com/...ng-transistor-help-led_flasher_to_music-2.png

In the 1st link how would I incorportate a music input instead of a mic input. I am kind of new to electronics.
I want to power this with AAs and the music source will be a mp3 player.

Thank you for any and all help,
Scott

Bosparra

Joined Feb 17, 2010
I have so many questions.

Actually playing music is one thing, but where will the music come from? Will an external device be 'plugged' into the necklace or do you also want to store the music in the necklace? (I had to re-read this question a couple of times:D)

I reckon space is going to be a major issue, unless you put the circuit inside an enclosure that looks like a pendant or something?

Have a look at Atmel's website, you get some 8 pin micro controllers. With software you'll be able to eliminate allot of discrete components for blinking the led's.

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
The first circuit should work fine. It is by Audioguru.
For an audio input you should be able to get rid of everything to the left of C4 and play with the ratio of R8 and R9 to get it working. I think they could be replaced by a 200K potentiometer.

Scott S

Joined Jun 25, 2010
I have so many questions.

Actually playing music is one thing, but where will the music come from? Will an external device be 'plugged' into the necklace or do you also want to store the music in the necklace? (I had to re-read this question a couple of times:D)