Need help choosing microcontroller

CanElec

Joined Nov 23, 2008
Hi all,

First off I am an electrical engineer and I work in industrial automation, mostly programming/configuring/wiring PLCs and programming industrial robots. I am pretty good with C, VB, Basic. I also tinker with hobby electronics. However, I'm new to microcontrollers.

As far as I can tell from the research I've done, you can either order just the microcontroller, or get a development board. What exactly comes with the development board?

I am looking for something that I can use to create some robot projects. I will probably want to re-use the microcontroller for a few different projects. I'll probably start off simple with a line follower, then move onto something more interesting.

I'll also want something capable of doing PID. As far as I can tell from reading, the Basic Stamp is a good starting platform, but I'm worried about a BASIC microcontroller not being powerful enough, plus I'm better with C anyways, so I'd probably want something that can be programmed with C.

I'm guessing it would be a good idea to go with at least a 16-bit or 32-bit microcontroller?

I'm not worried about spending some money, as I want to ensure that I get something that I will not outgrow. I want something with all the goodies basically: lots of digital/analog I/O, PWM, PID capable etc and I will want it to be capable of handing some more advanced robot projects that I'll probably get into.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? I know there probably isn't a single perfect microcontroller/development kit for me, but I'm sure someone can recommend something that will suit my needs.

Thanks and I look forward to learning on these forums.

jim77

Joined Nov 21, 2008
Everybody has their own ideals on this...
Personally, I only use Microchip, and compile it with Proton Basic (I'm too lazy to learn C !)