Need help calculating magnetic coil power specs

ElectromagnetNewbee

Joined Jul 13, 2014
I am planning on rolling an electromagnetic coil using Magnet Wire, Enameled Copper Wire, 14 AWG, 10 pounds, 0.0655" Diameter, Red. - This will just be one large round coil basically. I need a transformer to power this with maximum amps/power/voltage that a 10 pound coil with these specs will support without overheating.

I eventually need/want a VFD (Variable Frequency Drive) to power this coil, but a Transformer with 40 hertz OUTPUT will work for now (whatever is cheaper as I'm short on cash).

Would someone provide me with the specs and equipment with links so I can purchase what i need for this? Im a software developer, not an electrical guy so I'm new to all of this. thank you for your help!

Nate

inwo

Joined Nov 7, 2013
Where are you located that you have 40hz?
" but a Transformer with 40 hertz OUTPUT will work for now "

It may be hard to find a vfd for single phase.

What is the application? You may get more help if you allow a little flexibility on design.

ElectromagnetNewbee

Joined Jul 13, 2014
im in the New York City area so input is standard 60 hertz. but i need to bring the 'output' hertz via the coil to generate a 40 hertz wave, so i need a conversion to take place via some device like a transformer or VFD.

I found some specs online that said 12 AWG will support 41 open air amps? does this sound correct? how many volts would a 10 pound coil require to power this?

ElectromagnetNewbee

Joined Jul 13, 2014
also, once i wrap this large 10 pound coil... what do i coat the coil with so it stays together and does not unravel when i take it out of its rolling container?

can i coat the coil in some acrylic paint so it hardens and won't unravel? what would i use for some thing like that?

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013