Need Audio Compression Circuit

rasa73

Joined Apr 25, 2014
Hello All,

First off I am new here so I would like to say hello, and thanks for the great forum. A little about me: I have worked in the electrical industry for 20 years and hold a Master Electricians License. I have extensive experience in controls systems; such as building automation, production automation, fire alarm and suppression systems, and many other areas. I am also a recent graduate and now hold a Bachelor of Science Software Engineering degree. I am currently looking for an entry level software engineering position, so if you have one I am interested.

As the title suggests I am looking for information on downward compression for audio circuits. You may be wondering why. Well I am currently out of work, cheap, and board. I was looking for some electronics projects to occupy my time (when not looking for a job). I found a simple audio amp circuit for head phones and built one. The thought then occurred to me that I could use an amp to build my own amplified hearing protection. After some research I learned that a downward compression circuit is what I am looking for. This series of event brought me to this wonderful place.

My goal is to build hearing protection for when I go shooting and to wear on construction sites when working as an electrician. My research indicates that I need to build an amp with a control circuit. When the control circuit detects voltage above a certain level it shuts the amp off. My problem is I do not know how to build the control circuit or how to calculate what voltage should be the threshold for shut off.

If possible I would like the amp and control circuit to run on 6vdc. this way the power source will not be so large that it is cumbersome to wear all day. I plan on wearing the power source and circuitry around my neck, like a necklace. The electret mics and speakers will be contained in the ear covers of the hearing protection.

What I think I need: