Need a little advice with audio mixer project

Lambda

Joined Feb 28, 2011
I just registered here on this forum to ask this question. I have some experience in electronics, just not in audio.
The situation is this: I am building a circuit that mixes two audio signals. That seems simple, and indeed it is in the big picture. But the devil, as they say, is in the details.
I have the circuit diagram that I am going to use; it is pictured here.

The first thing that I need some advice on is the output. This is meant to drive a 100k ohm line input to a radio transmitter. Will the output from the op-amp do this, or must I incorporate a separate audio amplifier?

In regard to the inputs: One input will be from a main "house mix", taken from an unbalanced output from a equalizer. Is there anything that I should be aware of here? Anything that I have to do other than just connect it to R1?

The other input will be from a headset system, and I have no idea how I'm going to derive an output yet, the system not being designed to output to anything other than the headsets. This is not a big deal, worst comes to worst I'll just use a spare headset and derive the output from that, designed to drive a small speaker.
But it's the house mix that worries me. Make note that this is NOT an amplified output, i'm taking it before it goes to the power amplifiers.

And this mixer WILL be free of crosstalk, correct? That's the whole reason why I went with a virtual-earth mixer.

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
The unbalanced output from the mixer will be in need of a higher input impedance than the headphone output(which is amplified already)

The use of two seperate preamps before the mixer might be better in this case, each one would need different gain level. The idea is to get the signals into the same 'ballpark' of voltage and current BEFORE you try to mix them.