NE555 question

pmaegerman

Joined Apr 9, 2011
i am a beginner in electronics, trying hard and in need for an advice.
I have built a simple infrared remote with an Arduino and a library written by someone else.
I am very happy with it but thinking to build the same with a 555 IC, as a personal exercise (reading Make:electronics).
I am hesitating about the circuit, would I need one or two 555s and also calculation for the resistances and capacitors, I thought I would ask fro some guidance.
I have found the following information and I am a little confused by the mix of frequency and ms. :

Num. of pulses 16 / Tolerance 9 - 22
Burst frequency 32700 Hz / Tolerance 29800 - 35500 Hz
Delay 7.33 ms / Tolerance 7.0 - 7.7 ms

Thank you in advance

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Frequency is number of cycles per second (hz). It can also be expressed as time, in this case milliseconds (ms), by expressing how many ms it takes for one cycle to occur.

It sounds like they are trying to express digital information however. How many pulses is how many cycles. I design a lot with the 555, it would be easy to have two 555 chips make 16 cycles (square waves) and stop.

If you could get a picture of the waveforms that would help.

pmaegerman

Joined Apr 9, 2011
Well, I got the information from this site : http://www.doc-diy.net/photo/rc-1_hacked/index.php
There are oscilloscope screenshots, and there seems to be a pattern, thus my idea for the 555, I thought the timings would be enough, could you explain me how the waveforms help you ? As I said i am trying hard to learn by myself ;)

And here below the C code that makes it work with the Arduino, I didn't want to just reverse engineer it, I would like to elaborate on the 555 and be able to map the concepts, hoping to create a bridge between my programmer mind and the electronics.
Thank you for your time

void wait(unsigned int time){
unsigned long start = micros();
while(micros()-start<=time){
}
}