NE555 question from a newbie

froggy2684

Joined Mar 2, 2014
I have a dilemma and a confession (confession is I am a relative newbie to electronics.

The dilemma is that I want to be able to turn on a light via RF but don't want to continually send RF to the receiver.

The transmitter is on 443Mhz with a PIR to activate an encoder and send the command to the wall socket to turn on the light, using a NE555 the light stays on for 5 mins.

What I need to be able to do is have an NE555 timer (or other suggestions) on the transmitter and only send out RF every minute or so to activate the receiver. is this possible?

Thanks in advance

froggy2684

Joined Mar 2, 2014
After playing about and thinking more, i can maybe "simplfy" the question.

555's i presume are normally used to turn something on for a period of time. are there any circuit diagrams to turn something off for a period of time.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
After playing about and thinking more, i can maybe "simplfy" the question.

555's i presume are normally used to turn something on for a period of time. are there any circuit diagrams to turn something off for a period of time.
It can be done.

Let say 555 output is normally low, so there is voltage drop across something, that something is ON. Now you trigger the 555, 555 output goes high, so there is no or very little voltage drop across something, that something is OFF. After a user defined period of time the 555 output goes back to low and the something turns back ON.

That the simple explanation.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Thanks for that, I dont suppose you know of an example circuit?