Naveen91

is static electricity a great danger to Electronics?

• Total voters

kagustha

Joined Jun 10, 2011
I am new to this great site the "ALL ABOUT CIRCUITS". HELLO MY FRIENDS AND RESPECTED MASTERS Let us share our thoughts and ideas on repairing appliances and clarifying doubts

My first set of doubts
1. Why there is leakage of voltage on the DVD player body?
2. Why there is no Earth pin in the plug of appliances like TV,DVD player,Set Top Box etc,.

I assure you that I will be a Good member and friend to you.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Your subject title for this thread is confusing. It should actually be an introduction to what is contained in the thread, instead of some random characters. Perhaps it is another members' name?

1. Why there is leakage of voltage on the DVD player body?
Your first question does not make much sense. Are you saying that you are getting shocks from a DVD player that is plugged into a wall outlet?

2. Why there is no Earth pin in the plug of appliances like TV,DVD player,Set Top Box etc,.
The electronics inside the enclosures are supposed to be completely insulated from the enclosure itself, and/or the enclosure is made from a non-conductive material such as ABS plastic.

atferrari

Joined Jan 6, 2004
What is the benefit of running such a poll?

Pose this question instead: do you think that if you stop breathing, your life is in danger?

Nice start.

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
I've noticed that devices in plastic cases can have earth pins. I believe the reason for this is that there are class Y (line/neutral to earth) capacitors in these devices to reduce/filter out EMI. Presumably greater EMI is produced by a big TV set, but not by a DVD player.

Jotto

Joined Apr 1, 2011
There is always leakage, just have to make sure its in the acceptable range. But its not voltage its current. Anyone repairing stuff in this area should test for leakage.