Mystery voltage

mpeng1

Joined Nov 1, 2013
Hello all out there!!! I am new to this forum stuff so please don’t beat up on me too bad for my mistakes. I am a mechanical design engineer by nature but I get myself tied up into electrical stuff from time to time and some of it just beats me up. I decided to join one of these forum sites in hopes to get help here and there.

And now for my headache,
There are quite a number of circuits in the machine I am working with so it may be hard for me to tell you all about the circuits at this point so let me ask a question in general terms and take it from there.

There is a hand full of indicator lights on the control panel of this machine and they are 250 volt 1/3 watt lights. We can turn on a power switch to a device that has nothing to do with any of the indicator lights but some of the lights will turn on but be very dim. There is around 40vac showing up on the poles of the lights. They do light up a little so I know that I am not just seeing this ghost voltage thing that I here about.

Can anyone give me some ideals as to the types of things that could be creating and letting this partial voltage pass thru to the lights?

Some of the machines devices include;
Solid state relays, thermal power breakers, bi-metal disc thermostats, resistance heating elements, and items used to start and run an ac motor for a pump.

Thank you all

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Is this causing a problem or an indication of a fault?

Or is it designed to operate in this fashion?

Incandescent lamps are known burn out at higher rates when they are turned on and off very frequently. One way of extending the lifetime of a lamp is to run a low current through the bulb in order to preheat the bulb when they are supposed to be in the off state.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
There are quite a number of circuits in the machine I am working with