My trip to Radio shack

MusicTech

Joined Apr 4, 2008
So, I went to Radio Shack and picked up a whole bunch of goodies. Now, I gots alotsa mucho problemos.

K so I get the the most basic that they have in timers, (at least I didn't see anything more basic) the 555CN (2761723). So there are no labels or anything, as I am a complete noob, I am probably not seeing something. The unit is like a brushed plastic look, with a little circle of plastic that is unbrushed, as in still shiny, does this represent lead number 1.

Also I got some caps with numbers on them. These numbers are in uf, right? Also, how would you figure the volts they would hold? Sorry for the dumb questions

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
The timer you purchased is an NE555.

See the lettering and the unbrushed circle in the image? When the lettering is so that you can read it (if the photo were rotated 90° to the left) then pin #1 would be at the lower left corner, #4 lower right, #5 upper right, #8 upper left.

What kind of caps did you get? The disk capacitor assortment? If so, those numbers are in pF (PicoFarads).
1000nF = 1uF; 0.001uF = 1nF
1000pF = 1nF; 0.001nF = 1pF
1,000,000pF = 1uF; 0.000001uF = 1pF

I forget what their disk capacitor voltage rating is, but if you're powering the circuit with batteries you won't have to worry about it.

Post what some of the markings on the caps are.

MusicTech

Joined Apr 4, 2008
THanks a lot, I thought that's what it was, but I just wanted to make sure.

I got the 100 pack assortment. They say 221,561 1KV, 10 and 7
So, if I completely understand caps they will not charge to above their source, correct? I see no polarity markings, so it is fair to say they are not polarized

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You got the 100 pack assortment of disk capacitors?

221 = 220pF (first 2 digits taken literally, last digit is # of zeroes)
561 = 560pF, 1KV = 1000 volts
10 = 10pF (there isn't a 3rd digit, so you take the two literally)
7 = 7pF