My 555 PWM dosen't work

Scott_M

Joined May 8, 2008
Howdy folks
I have been looking around and you have a very nice site here ! Hopefully someone can help me. I am a novice in the world of electronics. Basicaly I know just enough to get myself into trouble. Which I think is what happened here. Long story short , I need to control a small dc motor about 1-2 amps max current. I found several schematics and settled on this one beacuse I had all the parts. ( Link to webpage )

I redrew the schematic and then did a board layout in Eagle and generated some g-code and milled the board on my cnc mill. Somewhere in this process I screwed somthing up. I have looked at everything for two days and can't figure where I went wrong.
Here are the redrawn schematics and layouts for the board and the finished project. I was really hoping that someone will spot my error/errors. Please don't be afraid to tell it like it is..I have pretty tuff skin

Attachments

Scott_M

Joined May 8, 2008
Just in case... I thought I would add that the IC's have been "mirrored" in the schematic and board layout so the will be correct when finished. As in the IC is on one side of the board and the traces are on the other.

Cornelius

Joined Mar 17, 2008
Your pots....

They are connected as fixed resistors the way you have connected them. ;)

Try solder a short jumper from one of the sidelegs to the middle leg. :)

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Cornelius got it ;)

Just a suggestion - you might find it easier to work with your schematics and PCB layout if instead of mirroring everything in the schematic and using the top layer, just use the bottom layer for traces in the board editor, then mirror it when you do your export.

What's your CNC mill? Homebuilt?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008