Multiplexing analog signal

Thread Starter

adrian.dmc

Joined Feb 22, 2007
53
I'm using a Picaxe PIC for a project and I want to have 4 analog signals connected to the same input (before you ask it's just my way of learning new stuff) I'm an expert in digital circuits so my idea is to create a analog multiplexer (4:1). Is this possible? If yes: how?

Thx...
 

nomurphy

Joined Aug 8, 2005
567
For wider voltage ranges, try the DG409 or older ADG509.

For an 8:1, I believe its the DG508.
 

Thread Starter

adrian.dmc

Joined Feb 22, 2007
53
Thank for your answers... I'll use the 74HC farts for its easy interfacing and because the 0 to 5V limit is not a worry.
 

nomurphy

Joined Aug 8, 2005
567
Just to be clear, the switching/addressing logic is all relative to +5V.

But if your switched I/O signals are greater than +/-5Vpk, then you can't/shouldn't use the HC/HCT parts.
 

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
12,301
The old CD4066 has 4 individual switches which can be configured as a 4:1 mux and lots of other things as well.
 

Thread Starter

adrian.dmc

Joined Feb 22, 2007
53
The purpose of the signals will be to carry sensors data (temperature, light, ...). When I design the sensors I'll make their output between 0 and 5V. Is this possible? My doubt comes from the Vee voltage can someone explain it to me?

EDIT: and what Vcc has to do with Vee?
 

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
7,012
The purpose of the signals will be to carry sensors data (temperature, light, ...). When I design the sensors I'll make their output between 0 and 5V. Is this possible? My doubt comes from the Vee voltage can someone explain it to me?

EDIT: and what Vcc has to do with Vee?
It's possible. If you need help, you'll need to post what kind of sensors you have, with datasheets if possible.

EDIT: You should be able to do it without a negative supply.
 
Top