Multi-Quote

Thread Starter

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
2,219
For the life of me I still haven't figured out to use our Multi-Quote feature. Does anyone know how to use it or an AAC link that explains it?
 

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
23,420
For the life of me I still haven't figured out to use our Multi-Quote feature. Does anyone know how to use it or an AAC link that explains it?
Press the "+" quote buttons on all posts you want to quote, then press the quote button on any other post. Viola.
Neat, I hadn't noticed that + button next to the quote. I've been doing it the hard way all this time.
 

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
5,182
And how about the "Quote message in reply" tickbox in the Quick Reply field? Sometimes it works, sometimes it's greyed out.
 

Thread Starter

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
2,219
Press the "+" quote buttons on all posts you want to quote, then press the quote button on any other post. Viola.
Well I'll be....! ;) I thought the Multi-Quote enabled the replier to break up a single post, where multiple questions were asked or statements were made and the replier wanted to answer or reply to each question or statement separated by the OP's quotes. Guess not but this is useful too! Thanks bunches!

Chris

Neat, I hadn't noticed that + button next to the quote. I've been doing it the hard way all this time.
Me too! I feel a major duh moment coming on. :rolleyes:

And how about the "Quote message in reply" tickbox in the Quick Reply field? Sometimes it works, sometimes it's greyed out.
I dunno. :confused: Maybe Tom knows.
 

Thread Starter

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
2,219
Since the multi-quote doesn't quite do what I hoped it did, as described in my last post, I will be writing a Text Editor program to do just that... painlessly! I'm really weary of copying and pasting multiple open and close tags when multi-quoting multiple questions in a single post. I envision a program where I can just mouse over what I want to quote, right click and select "Quote" from the drop down list...done! If the post has multiple member quotes they will be automatically added the drop down list.

Chris

Edit: When I'm finished writing it I'll make it available to any member who wants it.
 

magnet18

Joined Dec 22, 2010
1,227
I personally don't find it that hard to just type [ QUOTE ] or [ /QUOTE ] (sans spaces)
But if it becomes easier I'll have no trouble using your code :D
 

Thread Starter

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
2,219
I personally don't find it that hard to just type [ QUOTE ] or [ /QUOTE ] (sans spaces)
But if it becomes easier I'll have no trouble using your code :D
Check out the link..
http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showpost.php?p=352397&postcount=56

Way to often I find myself posting one of these. Actually more of my posts look like this one than not. My wife says it's because I like to hear myself. Whatever the reasons, anything that makes my computing time more efficient I'm receptive to.

Here's another example:
http://www.tina.com/English/tina/start.php?page=techsup&id=Tina

I had to fill this bloody thing out every time I had a question. That ended about a year ago when I got fed up and wrote a small exe. It navigates to that page and fills in all that data automatically. This leaves me with nothing to do but ask my question in the text box at the bottom and click Submit. Guess what? I ask a lot more questions and make endless suggestions now. Like I'm a pen pal! :D There's just something about single click submissions that makes them so much more palatable. ;)
 

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
2,595
And how about the "Quote message in reply" tickbox in the Quick Reply field? Sometimes it works, sometimes it's greyed out.
Try the button next to the "+" button, that's for quick reply. Then tick "Quote message in reply."

vBulletin is an example of a poor user interface as people cannot use it without guessing or referring to the manual...

I used Quick Reply for this.
 

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
5,182
Try the button next to the "+" button, that's for quick reply. Then tick "Quote message in reply."

vBulletin is an example of a poor user interface as people cannot use it without guessing or referring to the manual...

I used Quick Reply for this.
Nice! Thanks Tom!
 
Top