MPLAB Debug Express Lesson 5: Using Timer0

NGinuity

Joined Jun 23, 2012
Hey everybody. I am going through the lessons for Pickit 3's Debug Express and I am a little stuck on Lesson 5, which introduces the use of Timer0. I have Pickit3 connected to the Development Board, and I am using USB to power the target. I took the lesson code directly from the install, built it, no errors, program the chip, no errors. The problem is that the output does not work as expected. It's supposed to shift through the LED's, incrementing or decrementing when Timer0 expires and resets, and shift direction when the input button is pressed. Unfortunately, it doesn't do anything. This is the first issue I have had with it and all other lessons have worked great!

Here's the Lesson 5 C code. Can anyone see a glaring error that's causing it to hiccup? I'm a decent C coder but admittedly, I don't know the hardware that well yet.

Thanks in advance for any help provided.

-Eric
Rich (BB code):
/** C O N F I G U R A T I O N   B I T S ******************************/

#pragma config FOSC = INTIO67, FCMEN = OFF, IESO = OFF                      // CONFIG1H
#pragma config PWRT = OFF, BOREN = OFF, BORV = 30                           // CONFIG2L
#pragma config WDTEN = OFF, WDTPS = 32768                                   // CONFIG2H
#pragma config MCLRE = ON, LPT1OSC = OFF, PBADEN = ON, CCP2MX = PORTC       // CONFIG3H
#pragma config STVREN = ON, LVP = OFF, XINST = OFF                          // CONFIG4L
#pragma config CP0 = OFF, CP1 = OFF, CP2 = OFF, CP3 = OFF                   // CONFIG5L
#pragma config CPB = OFF, CPD = OFF                                         // CONFIG5H
#pragma config WRT0 = OFF, WRT1 = OFF, WRT2 = OFF, WRT3 = OFF               // CONFIG6L
#pragma config WRTB = OFF, WRTC = OFF, WRTD = OFF                           // CONFIG6H
#pragma config EBTR0 = OFF, EBTR1 = OFF, EBTR2 = OFF, EBTR3 = OFF           // CONFIG7L