Motor for Guitar Tuner

The_Fleertz

Joined Apr 23, 2012
Hey all,
I need a DC servo for an automatic guitar tuner and was wondering if anyone had suggestions for one that would have sufficient torque and be easily controlled using a PIC16f887 and an H-bridge. No RC servos though.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What does a servo motor got to do with a guitar tuner?
Are you attempting to tune the guitar strings with a motor?
I think the required torque is going to be extremely high.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I think the required torque is going to be extremely high.
Not with the mechanical advantage of the tuner mechanism. My old fingers have no problem.

Also, I had my guitar in the shop recently and saw the technician use a motorized winder to speed up a restringing. He just slipped it over the the tuning knob and spun it like using a cordless screwdriver.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Winding up the string is one thing, tuning to a precise musical note is another.
I am a musician and guitar player. I know what it takes to tune a guitar.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Oh I'm not saying it's a simple idea to implement, just that it could be done. The tuning process takes a skilled hand, but I think a computer could do it as well as a human. A device that matched your guitar and could tune all 6 strings at the same time would be pretty cool. I'm sure I'd never pay for one, but I'd want one.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
A better idea would not require a perfectly tuned guitar. Play a note and a DSP plays back a perfectly tuned note, chord, chorus or whatever for any instrument of your choosing. Like a keyboard synthesizer.

Last edited:

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
You just need a small DC motor with a large reduction ratio gearbox, super low speed, high torque.

Backlash is always an issue, but that's another story.

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009