motor driver with capacitor as timer

Sergio83

Joined May 2, 2010
Hi all,

first, thanks for this site, it helped me a lot to better understand basic components and rule of electricity, even if i'm still a rookie.

I'm trying to do a project about a motor driver.

I'm going to use a DC motor with brushes.
I've to supply the circuit with an AAA battery of 1,5V. If is not enough i can think of using 2 batteries in order to reach 3V supply.

What i want to achieve is:

<
-The user press only one button for a time 'T' which can vary every time.
Pressing that button the engine turns clockwise.

-When the user release the button, the motor turns anticlockwise for the same time 'T' the user pushed the button before.
Then everything stop untill the user press the button again.

>

In that way the engine will go back the same turns it went forward. (actually even if is not that precise it doesn't matter)

I thought to do that without IC such as PICs, but to use a capacitor as memory/timer.
I would like to do that circuit as much easy as possible, in order to get the cheapest and smallest system i can, even if not that precise.

I came out with that idea:

For the weak knowledge i have about electricity it looks like it can work, but i need an expert look.

Can it work?

I bet i have to fix something.
If it is completly wrong i'll try to use transistors and H bridge.

Thanks for your attention.

Sergio

P.S. for the button i will use that double throw micro button:

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
No,it cannot work.

What is the application the motor is used in?

It would be much easier and accurate if you can place to limit switches on the positions you want the motor to stop. By pushing the first button, the motor moves forward until it reaches the limit switch. By pushing the second button, the motor reverses until it reaches the second limit switch.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Hello Sergio,

Unfortunately, it's not going to work like that.