Motor control, Contactors

BiGe

Joined Aug 1, 2010
Hi I am a qualified electrician, but have not done motors and contactors since my apprenticship. Can anyone help me refresh how to wire them up. I have found this site and thought i should refresh my knowledge, and thought i should start with this. Anyone that can help would be greatly appreciated

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
I'm still working on my 4th year hours, but the only work I've done is on motors/controls.

I adhere to the CEC, which is a very close to the NEC. With this in mind, one can look at the topic from a theory, practical, and or legislative viewpoint.

BillB3857

Joined Feb 28, 2009
Exactly what kind of information are you looking for? Single direction Start/Stop, Forward/Reverse Start/Stop, Start/Stop with remote stations, etc, etc........ A lot of variations to cover.

edit. Overly simplified, start button is bypassed by aux contact of starter. Stop button is in series with power feed to ladder rung.

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
Hi I am a qualified electrician, but have not done motors and contactors since my apprenticship. Can anyone help me refresh how to wire them up. I have found this site and thought i should refresh my knowledge, and thought i should start with this. Anyone that can help would be greatly appreciated

Connecting a motor to a contactor is pretty straight forward:

Power to the coil goes to A1 and A2,
Power for the Motor goes to L1,L2 and L3 if 3 phase
Motor connects to T1,T2, and T3 if 3 phase...

B. Morse

rvh002@gmail.com

Joined May 15, 2009