Motor (Clockwise for a second, stop, counterclockwise for a second, stop) -- Relays?

adamfier

Joined Jun 12, 2009
What I want to accomplish:
Press a switch-
Motor spins clockwise for a time, and then stops
The same motor then spins counterclockwise for a time and then stops
-END-

My idea
I am using a remote control to activate a relay that activates the motor. My thought is that I could run two sets of wires from this relay: the first going to a timed relay of some sort to make the motor spin clockwise for a time (t) and then stop. the second set coming from the relay would go to a delay or something that would wait for (t) and then spin the motor counterclockwise for (t) and then stop.

I would like to press my button, and the motor turns, pulling a string and lifting a weight, and then the motor turns in the opposite direction and lowers the weight back down.

Thanks in advance for all of your help. Please be as specific as possible. I am still learning.

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
We put together a quick assembly a few years back where the cord was doubled around a pivoting idler. This idler had a simple opto paddle that counted movement. Count up , then count down. One problem we ran into was at the end, if the cord was slack, a tangle was inevitable. We then sprung the idler against a limit switch which would stop motion as soon as any slack developed in the hoist cord.

In the final device, the opto was used for both speed regulation and position, and we retained the limit to avoid tangles.

Because speed was dependant on other functions, our drive was micro controlled to accomodate changing parameters.

samuraimarc

Joined Mar 28, 2009
What kind of motor? AC? DC? voltage?
Are you trying to use electronics or industrial motor controls? I.e. socket timers, starters, cube relays.
Might be able to help with a little more info.

Chris15

Joined Apr 15, 2009