Mosfet volume gate

westhomas

Joined Sep 29, 2008
hello all,

I'd like to use a mosfet to control the signal from say a 555 astable oscillator as it is fed out to an amplifier (like your standard guitar amp). I've never used a mosfet before but it seems like the appropriate component for the task.

The signal from the sensor (which is a Sharp IR proximity sensor) is about 1 to 3 VDC. I would like the output to be 0 when the gate voltage is 1, so one of my questions is whether I need to modify the sensor output before it reaches the gate.

My other question is whether this will work - IRF530N even though it's way above the ratings I need.

Here's a very basic sketch...

much thanks

Attachments

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
The short answere is no. A 530 needs 10 volts on the gate for full conduction. Even a smaller logic level FET needs 5 volts.

Add an op amp to amplify the sensor signal and it should work. The IRF530 is overkill - something more like a 2N7000 is more like it, although the 530 will work. That would require about 15 volts for the op amp. With a logic level FET like a VN10LP, 8 to 9 volts would work fine.

westhomas

Joined Sep 29, 2008
hey...thanks,

mosfets can be used as a kind of variable resistor, right? If I were to place the drain and source pins of the 2N7000 across pins 6 and 7 of the astable 555...could I modulate the oscillation frequency?

I would try it out but I don't have a 2N7000 yet.

thanks again
wes

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
You might get some effect, but the devices are intended to operate in full on or off states. You could simply add a pot across those pins and get a more predictable result.

Metalfan1185

Joined Sep 12, 2008