Mixing desk Equalizer

migs

Joined Apr 26, 2010
Hi everyone,I'm new to this forum.

I'm a sound engineer with very very limited knowledge of electronics.I'm working on a mod for my mixing desk and tried many, mainly audio gear forums, but few people over there seem to have a clue about what I'm trying to achieve.Maybe you can help.
The equalizer section of my desk has three bands: Hi-Frequencies,Mids and Low Frequencies.The Mids are "fully sweepable" semi-parametric, the HF and LF are what we call Shelves or Filters with set frequencies,10KHz for the HF and 100Hz for the LF.I find the lack of frequency choice a bit restraining when comes the time to mix.So I managed to remove the Capacitors responsible for those Frequencies from the PCB(C12 and C13 on the diagram) and replace them by small bread boards with a DPDT on-off-on switch and three Poly. Caps..By putting the caps. in parallel with each other, I manage to get a choice of three different frequencies, for each band.So far so good ,it works.But where I'm stuck is with the LF circuit which is based on a Gyrator circuit.I have read somewhere on the net that you could make that band "fully sweepable" by putting a Potentiometer in series with one of the resistors.I will post that document when I find it.Not to make this post too long, let me show you a diagram of the existing circuit and a few pics. of my work so far.

Any help or direction would be appreciated.Thanks.

Attachments

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
What is wrong with the microphones or the room to make the sound so bad that you must equalize it?

Maybe your monitor speakers have a bad response and you are equalizing the recording so that they sound better but then everybody elses speakers will sound bad.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Audioguru, stop being so doggone grumpy. :(

Migs,