Microcontroller of SoC?

tommy_gunn

Joined Oct 9, 2013
Hello everyone,

I am currently working on a project that requires use of a microcontroller. In short, I will have a sensor connected to the MCU and the MCU will send data from the sensor using Bluetooth module.

The goal is to make the whole system as small, power efficient (battery run) and cheap as possible. While doing a research into the hardware I need for this, I found that the use of SoC instead of MCU would very well satisfy my need for small system size and power consumption. More so, when some of the SoCs I found have built-in Bluetooth modules in them, so I wouldn't have to use an external BT module.

I have moderate experience in programming MCUs using assambler or C - mainly STM32s with ARM Cortex-M processors. However, I have no experience with SoCs.

Here is what I know about SoCs:
They are more complex than regular MCUs, they consist of one or more MCUs, they have larger memory chips and are designed to run embedded versions of OS. They are also much smaller than typical MCUs and are very power efficient.

Here is what I'd like to know:
1. The program I need for my application should be fairly simple. When developing software for MCUs, I wrote the program in IDE (Keil or IAR), than downloaded it into the MCU. Does the same procedure apply for SoC software development? Can I just write a program and download it into the SoC to run? I mean outside of any OS that may be on the SoC, exactly as it would be on a MCU.
2. When Systems on Chip are designed to run embedded Linux or Windows, they need to have a bootloader stored somewhere in Flash (I guess) and boot the system from some memory (SD card perhaps). If that is the case, is there a way for me to write the program I need (harvest data from sensor and send it using Bluetooth) and download it to the SoC so that the system (Linux perhaps) would run it?

Thank you very much for your help!

tommy_gunn

Joined Oct 9, 2013