mic and speaker system to help public school teachers

octagonx

Joined Nov 20, 2008
Hi,

I want to build a portable device that will help public school teachers in teaching. The system i was thinking will incorporate a "lapel" or a small microphone and a loudspeaker that can be heard over a small classroom of about 40-50 people. The system must be battery operated and somewhat handheld (or can be worn on the waist).

Since I'm new to audio, i don't know what speaker and speaker driver to be used. I saw one, the TDA2002 which is an 8W car speaker amplifier but i don't know if its going to be an overkill.

Can anyone help me with what speaker and amplifiers to be used?

Thanks a lot.

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008
Hi,

I want to build a portable device that will help public school teachers in teaching. The system i was thinking will incorporate a "lapel" or a small microphone and a loudspeaker that can be heard over a small classroom of about 40-50 people. The system must be battery operated and somewhat handheld (or can be worn on the waist).

Since I'm new to audio, i don't know what speaker and speaker driver to be used. I saw one, the TDA2002 which is an 8W car speaker amplifier but i don't know if its going to be an overkill.

Can anyone help me with what speaker and amplifiers to be used?

Thanks a lot.
I think most teachers would be best helped by an old fashioned bullhorn. :)

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
If the microphone can hear the speaker (it will if they are close together) then there will be acoustical feedback howling.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
There are a lot of off the shelf stuff that will do this. As Audio Guru suggested, you will have problems with squeal (feedback). Are you wanting to build something or find out where to buy it?

octagonx

Joined Nov 20, 2008