med student research project help

ccemtp

Joined May 29, 2014
Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum and have need for help on an odd project so I don't end up killing myself with it.

I'm a medical student doing a research project in cardiac arrest using isolated small animal hearts. We have to induce ventricular fibrillation to do this and I will have to build the device that does this. I've read several similar studies that have done this so I know what the current is like they are outputting. It seems rather small to me but they are slowly increasing 60hz AC current to 3-5ma for 30 seconds, holding it there for 30 seconds, then reducing it to half that current for one minute.

It would seem to me that this could be done with a potentiometer plugged into wall current but that just seems extremely dangerous. I know I am building a device designed to put a heart into Vfib after all, I just don't want to put myself into Vfib using it! :)

I don't think I would need a transformer to do this as the current would remain the same, just the voltage would change right? Sorry, I've tinkered with electronics all my life but I would barely call myself a hobbyist with my level of success at making things that worked. Thats why I'm reaching out for help. Thanks!

ronv

Joined Nov 12, 2008
The transformer is to keep you (or the animal) from completing the circuit with just 1 paddle and earth. You can still get it if you touch both paddles. So yes a good idea!:eek:
The current sounds about right but I would expect the voltage might be higher than what you get from the wall outlet. Do you have a number for the voltage?
Is it an external shock or open heart?

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Your understanding of a transformer isn't quite right. The primary to secondary turns ratio determines the voltage relationship between the input and output voltages. A 10:1 turns ratio means that with 120 Vac in, you get 12 Vac out.