Measuring resistance of components to adjust resistors ?

Eledris

Joined Mar 14, 2013
Hello folks,

I'm kinda new to electronics and still trying to figure out how everything is linked together.
I plan to build a small PCB with connectors to attach another circuit and I want to realize a measurement of the connected components in order to adjust either the applied voltage from my power generator (output DC) or to use a switch logic which brings in different resistors to control the current.
I imagine it'll be easier to keep the power supply on a fixed voltage.

Currently I stuck with my scope to measure the resistance of the connected parts. I want to use LEDs which will be connected in series. The quantity of LEDs can differ and therefore the resistors needed to adjust the current should differ accordingly. Instead of having the end user choose the amount of LED's (and if you think forward it also depends on type of LED, manufacturer, etc..) I want my circuit to measure and calculate the correct resistor(s) and then start the switching logic to put these into the circuit.
I read about different methods like using an ADC for doing a so called "dual slope" or the "wheatstone" method. But - frankly - I have no idea how I could realize such a method and which parts I would need.

So - my main question is if it's possible to measure the resistance of a specific group of components without having a "running" voltage/current, but only a measurement voltage/current.

Any hint or ressource I could read to gather further informationwould be highly appreciated.

Thanks,

Ele

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
It's very hard to get a feel for what it is you are trying to do.

You want to choose a different amount of LEDs for what purpose?

How would YOU determine that 5 was too few, 6 was ust right, and 7 was too many?