Math don't work.

logmode

Joined Sep 5, 2011
Hello,
I was in electronics resources and I was thrown a LM317 regulator. I am a NEWB and have a question. I put together this circuit to study it. It doesn’t follow the rules I know. For instance parallel currents add, and series are the same. Look at the diagram, those are my meter readings, no math.ADJ has a current 57.4 UA and should be .29MA. Why is it not .29MA?
R3 is just a load.

Thank you
logmode

Attachments

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
Possibly measurement / calculation errors.

What measurements did you take?

What instrument(s) did you use?

What derived values did you calculate from your measurements? For example did you measure the voltage across R2 and use Ohm's law to work out the current based on the nominal [or measured?] resistance? Or did you measure both voltage and current?

More information would make it easier to answer.

logmode

Joined Sep 5, 2011
All measurements came from my meter, twice. no math.
Meter- Beckman Industrial HD110
Bought it new and it’s always given me a true answers.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
When you insert a current meter into the ADJ connection the internal resistance of the meter comes into play and changes the entire circuit values.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
No meter is perfect.
A voltmeter will still draw current even at 10MΩ internal resistance.
Check the internal resistance of your ammeter. It will still have a finite resistance.

logmode

Joined Sep 5, 2011
Please, I know that I don't know. But I have tested that and I found 0 A at the U setting. also my instructor has told me that there is no current.I agree with you, there must be a current but meter tell me no.
well ok thx

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
The Adj pin current tends to be reasonably stable. It's most likely the effect of putting the meter in series with the 240 ohm resistor. A meter resistance of ~10 ohms would account pretty well for the difference in values.

logmode

Joined Sep 5, 2011