Magnetic Pickup of piston inside cylinder

coffwf04

Joined May 11, 2008
Hi guys,

I am an engineer, and I have been tasked with designing a circuit to interface with a PLC, which will detect the presence of a piston with a powerful magnet embedded into it, once it reaches the end of its stroke. It will do this using a sensitive hall effect sensor. So far I have designed this circuit in Eagle, made a prototype, and I want to make a PCB for it however I thought I would get you guys to check it first :)

Any hints or suggestions would be much appreciated. I am fairly new to the analog electronics field.

Regards,

Will

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You do not show an 0.1uF (100nF) bypass capacitor across the power/ground terminals of the LM339. Please be aware that bypass capacitors are NOT optional, and a single 0.1uF ceramic or metal poly cap is considered a minimum requirement for most ICs; some exceptions are items like the 555 timer which requires both an 0.1uF and 1uF cap, and certain opamps amongst others.

The LM339 is a quad comparator. You do not show the other 3 channels. Their inputs must either be grounded, or you will have big problems with oscillations.

The LM339 is not rated for automotive use. The LM2903 dual comparator IS rated for automotive use. Alternatively, you could use an LM111 single comparator.

You will only get about 2.7mA current through the optocouplers' emitter (the LED side). They are pretty anemic anyway. You really should get that up to around 10mA, but the LM2903 has limited current sink ability; don't expect more than about 4.5mA.

You'll need to use something like a voltage follower to increase the current through the optocouplers' emitter.