M54128 Earth Leakage Current Detector

kevindd992002

Joined Nov 23, 2010
Can anyone please help me on what function does the M54128 Earth Leakage Current Detector do? I don't quite understand what it does based on the datasheet: http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datashe.../M54128FP.html provided by Renesas/Mitsubishi.

I'm in the process of doing an Analysis and Simulation job in my company but I'm new to this. I have the circuit of the whole chip but am having a hard time analyzing it.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
It appears to be part of a GFCI (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter) to kill the circuit when current from hot doesn't match current in neutral.

Possibly also an Arc Fault Detector, possibly both. The datasheet I looked at (your link didn't work for me) stated:

The M54128L/FP is a semiconductor integrated circuit having leakage detection and abnormal voltage detection
functions for high-speed earth leakage interruption, and was developed for use in earth leakage breakers.

kevindd992002

Joined Nov 23, 2010
Hmm. Well, I have the whole chip circuit with me (transistor level) and my task is to analyze how it works. I'm having a hard time though because it is my first time to analyze a whole chip circuit. I also have Cadence to simulate it.

Would it be possible for you guys to help me analyze each block of this IC?

What does earth-leakage exactly mean? Is this unwanted current that flows to ground?

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
What does earth-leakage exactly mean? Is this unwanted current that flows to ground?
It means current is taking a path to ground other than on the neutral return conductor, such as when somebody has one hand on a live wire, and the other on a cold water faucet. It must be interrupted within 5-20mS to minimize chances of cardiac arrest.

kevindd992002

Joined Nov 23, 2010