[LTSpice] Trouble with a simple simulation

exscape

Joined Jan 19, 2012
Hi, everyone!
I'm new to electronics (and even newer to LTSpice, having started yesterday or so), and I'm having some trouble with a simulation.

I have a simple circuit with a transistor and two LEDs (see the attched picture and/or LTSpice file; the screenshot is the exact same circuit, just to make it easier for some).
I've built the circuit, and it appears to work as expected. However, I did not know quite how to add a push button in LTSpice; in the real circuit, it's on the wire along the very right.
With the push button "open", one LED is lit. When the button is held down, the other LED is lit.

Now, the problem is that LTSpice tells me there's a 3.23 amp current on the transistor's base pin! :confused:

I assume that's not accurate (not only because it doesn't make any sense to me, but also because my circuit works with my arduino via USB as a power source), but what is causing it? Some quirk of SPICE I'm unaware of? Or am I actually doing something wrong with the circuit itself?

Attachments

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
The circuit on you diagram cannot work properly.
I attach correct diagram.

Use Ctrl+ R to rotate the part and Ctrl+E to mirror

Attachments

exscape

Joined Jan 19, 2012
Thanks, but is there something in particular wrong with my circuit? The error is clearly in my LTSpice model, since it works exactly as it should IRL. It might be a dumb mistake I'm not seeing, or something I'm just doing wrong with LTSpice.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Thanks, but is there something in particular wrong with my circuit? The error is clearly in my LTSpice model, since it works exactly as it should IRL. It might be a dumb mistake I'm not seeing, or something I'm just doing wrong with LTSpice.