Low V led?

Bobbed750

Joined Nov 2, 2013
I am needing to know how I could make an led light turn on when voltage on a 18650 battery goes below 3.2v

The battery will be at 4.0 volts fully charged.

Thanks in advance guys!!

Bobbed750

Joined Nov 2, 2013
I'm pretty new to this whole electrical thing, Could you put it in layman's terms for me?

I'm building an electronic cigarette "mod" and need the led to indicate when my internal battery drops below 3.2v, so I know when to charge it without having to pull it out and put a multi-meter on it. Will be a sealed unit with usb charging,

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Then it should be possible to choose a current limiting resistor such that you have less than a two-to-one change in LED current as the battery discharges.

What is the current rating of your LED? How bright do you want it to be? How long do you want the battery to last?

Bobbed750

Joined Nov 2, 2013
Then it should be possible to choose a current limiting resistor such that you have less than a two-to-one change in LED current as the battery discharges.

What is the current rating of your LED? How bright do you want it to be? How long do you want the battery to last?
The current is rated 28mA, Near full brightness would be good since its only a 0.8MCD LED.

I really appreciate your help guys

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
I am needing to know how I could make an led light turn on when voltage on a 18650 battery goes below 3.2v

The battery will be at 4.0 volts fully charged.

Thanks in advance guys!!
If you want an LED to turn ON below a certain voltage, a comparator circuit should be used.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
If you need more help just ask. No one is born knowing this stuff, and I like what I call do nothing circuits.

Austin Clark

Joined Dec 28, 2011